The Answer to All of My Questions?

“I doubt that very seriously Honey, but thanks for calling to let me know…”

So there I was…laying on my daughter’s living room floor nearly 2000 miles from home.  My phone was “silent” on the floor beside me.  My Apple Watch alerted me of the incoming call.  It was my doctor’s office in South Carolina.  I was patiently waiting for that very call.  

Hopefully, I would be receiving the diagnosis that eluded me!  The puzzling pain that struck my seemingly healthy body several months earlier was driving me to a very dark and lonesome place.  I longed for that diagnosis in order to know how to fight this monster living inside me!

I just knew there would be some long, drawn-out answer to my volatile situation.  I tried to stand to walk into the kitchen for privacy but I just couldn’t muster enough energy to get up off the floor.  I tried rolling to my side to push myself up, but my wrists and elbows shouted a vehement “NO!”  Instead of asking my husband to help me, I gently rolled back giggling all the way back down to the floor.  I’m sure it was quite comical to watch!

Without skipping a beat, Avery continued playing “Doc McStuffins” with me.  She was 3 years old at the time and had no idea that her 48 year old GiGi was in so much pain.  She checked my heartbeat with her little stethoscope.  I would’ve guessed it was somewhat elevated at the time.

I was secretly excited to finally be getting the answer to the inexplicable “pain train” I apprehensively boarded back in June, 2016.  The voice from 2000 miles away started out with all the niceties that most would receive from such a phone call.  

Being from the south, our typical southern hospitality exuded through both ends of the phone.  Our conversation went something like this.  (It may not be word for word, but it’s pretty close.  I remember it like it was yesterday.)

I answered, “Hello?” 

The nurse asked, “Hi…Is this Marianna?”

I responded, “Yes it is.  I‘ve been waiting for your call.”

“Oh okay Sweetie.  How are you doing this afternoon?” She asked.

“Well, it’s still morning here in Arizona and the sunrise was breathtaking. How are you?”  As I spoke, I recalled the spectacular sunrise that morning.  (WOW!)

A personal untouched photo of God‘s beautiful handiwork.  This is not the photo from that particular morning, but you get the point…

She replied, “Oh yeah, that’s right.  You did say you were flying out to visit your family.  I’ll bet it was beautiful.”     

I was growing antsy and was totally over the small talk.  I just wanted to get to the purpose of the call.  WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME?  I always tried remaining positive around others, but the feeling I had on the inside was quite the opposite.  This pain was still haunting me; although, the intensity level was down some since my arrival.  That was a blessing.

Was it the feeling of euphoria being around my grandchildren?  Was it because I cut gluten from my diet?  Was it the different climate?  Was it all three?

Just a side note…I have three grandchildren.  The reason you see and hear more about Avery is because Abby and Emma are adopted.  I do not wish to take liberties to open their lives to the blogging world at this time.  I love them all dearly!  Emma is not pictured in my gallery for this particular trip.

I was not at all prepared for what the nurse would share with me.  It was the strangest diagnosis ever!  If it were only that simple.  When she told me, I wished I could’ve transported myself through the phone to stand face to face with her and demand to speak with Dr. L.

My first thoughts were rushing through my head so quickly.  I could barely even think straight.  I wanted to ask a few questions but none of them were very appropriate.  My first thought?

“Are you crazy lady?”

“Do you realize my life has totally been turned upside down?”

“Do you understand the agonizing pain my body has endured for the past several months?”

“Have I shared the countless sleepless nights?  How many sleepless nights can the human body really endure anyway?”

I know, I know!  I haven’t told you what she said yet.  First, I’ll tell you what we already know…

She said, “You‘ve tested negative for Celiac Disease.”  Praise the Lord!  I wasn’t fond of eating a gluten-free diet anyway.  It’s not as tasty and it’s more expensive! 

It was her next statement that generated all of those previous questions in my very inquisitive mind.  Here goes!

She calmly stated, “We have found in your labs that you have a B-12 deficiency. We would suggest you add a B-12 supplement to your daily vitamin regimen.”

I simply grunted these next two words. They are indeed, word for word!  

In my sweetest southern hospitable voice…I said, “Huh?”  

After about a three second pause, and in the most incredulous tone I could muster up,  I also remarked with furrowed eyebrows, “Seriously?”  

I only wished she could’ve witnessed the expression on my face.

I then snidely retorted with a very dismissive laugh, “I doubt that very seriously Honey, but thanks for calling to let me know.”

I felt my face get hot and my chest had a heaviness that I had not felt before.  I had to sit up to help slow my heartbeat.  It was as though all my blood was rushing to my head.  What a horrible feeling that was!  What in the world was that anyway!  Lord have mercy!

She gracefully disagreed and told me to at least try it, but I knew my body.  This was all wrong!  My B-12 levels may have been low, but that was definitely NOT the cause of all the pain.  I told her I would get some vitamins when I returned to South Carolina in the next day or so.  I always did what the doctors advised me to do.  I figured it wouldn’t help, but it definitely wouldn’t hurt either.

She apologized for my discontentment and stated if they could help any further to let them know.  I told her I appreciated her calling and would certainly be making another appointment upon my return.  

I would have to ask Wendy, my “angel” (sister-in-law) nurse to pull out her fancy medical computer again to see what we needed to ask the doctor about next.  No…it wasn’t Google we were looking at either.  

Read Could It Be?

I know!  I was as disappointed as you are right now.  What a letdown!  My diagnosis?  Well?  It would remain anonymous!  At least they did exactly what I asked them to do.  That was to rule out Celiac Disease.

What would Dr. L say when I made an appointment to question his findings about the B-12 deficiency?  He said the right thing…and I love him for it!

For the duration of my trip, I would have a great time with my family.  I would be mesmerized watching a few stunning sunrises and even more so, some very extraordinary sunsets.  At the time, I felt God created them just for me.  For those very brief peaceful moments, I could honestly say, “I’m good, I’m good!”  It was God that created in me…the tenacity to “carry on and smile along the way.”  The photos above show a few reasons why!

Another untouched personal photo of mine.  An Arizona sunset…The fire in the sky! Pure splendor!

“The Lord will give strength unto his people; the Lord will bless his people with peace.”  Psalm 29:11 KJV (always)

2 Replies to “The Answer to All of My Questions?”

    1. Ha! It sure was difficult keeping my southern hospitable charm! 😯 From here, my personality took a turn. Especially inwardly….tough stuff sister! I love writing about it and I love you too.

      Like

Leave a comment