What Does That Mean Anyway?

If you follow my personal blog, you’ve noticed two phrases I use near the end of every post. One phrase is carry on, and smile along the way, and the other is, I’m good, I’m good. (These phrases do not appear in the posts I contribute for Lexington Medical Center’s, Every Woman Blog.)

cropped-img_0047.jpgIn my very first post, Right Here…Right Now… the timing just wasn’t right, but I shared a plan to eventually reveal the reason I chose to use these particular words for each article I published.

I chose carry on and smile along the way in an attempt to keep an upbeat attitude. Coping with daily intense chronic pain from rheumatoid arthritis-related symptoms, this effort was nearly impossible.

No one could fight my battles for me, so I physically and mentally fought them on my own. Some days I won, and other days I failed miserably. At the end of the day, my desire was to not take others down with me, so I merely had to remind myself to carry on, and smile along the way. This little saying appeared to do its job. Many people didn’t realize anything was even wrong with me, while on the inside, my mind and body was in complete chaos. 

I’ve often heard, there’s pain that hurts, then there’s pain that changes you. I am forever a changed woman. The type of misery I experienced over an extended period of time spiraled me into a dark place that only God could reach. It wasn’t easy working through it all, but I managed to navigate difficult situations knowing God was leading my front. It took quite some time to find the right doctor and the correct medication. I thank God for them both.

*****

Strangely enough, I’m good, I’m good, is my weird battle cry. On the absolute worst day of my life, these four words were uttered from my mouth. I’m writing about the details of this particular day now to share with you in the near future. It’s tough writing about the worst day of your life, but this day is forever ingrained in my mind. The events of this somber day actually lead to a comical ending by using those four innocent little words.

white angel illustrationThere were three people in the room with me on this transformative day. If Gerry, Cindy, or Wendy are reading this post, each one is laughing out loud this very moment. (Gerry is my husband, Cindy is my sister, and Wendy is my “angel” sister-in-law.) An Angel In the Midst…Part I and An Angel in the Midst…Part II

Be on the lookout for the aptly titled post, “I’m Good, I’m Good,” to be published in the next few weeks or so. I’m contemplating posting the Snapchat video that serves as icing on the cake. I’m not a “snap chatter” so in my opinion, it makes the story that much funnier. If I decide to share it with the world, you can certainly be the judge.

*****

I hope you’re also following my contributions to Lexington Medical Center’s, Every Woman Blog. I had a bright idea to begin a Summer Road Trip Series with LMC. With most everyone in America planning their summer vacations, I thought it would be fun to edit the road trip series I wrote in my earlier blogging days. Although I still consider myself a novice blogger, I like to think my writing skills have improved—at least a little.

It’s been a lot of fun revisiting this awesome journey taken across the United States of America when I was 100% healthy. I experienced the traditional American, wind-in-the-hair road trip just before horrible joint pain invaded my body.

I feel God gifted this to me before I went through many trials and tribulations. In essence, my 2016 Arizona road trip serves as a significant marker that rightly divides my normal life with my alternate life.

If you’re not already following My Alternate Universe, you can easily do so by clicking the option to follow in order to receive notifications when new posts are published. I will re-blog my LMC posts on this website as well.

When nothing seems to go your way, just carry on, and smile along the way. I’m thrilled to say today, I’m good, I’m good—and truly mean it. Thanks for reading…

8 Replies to “What Does That Mean Anyway?”

    1. It may only be funny to me and the three other people in the room that night, but I feel it’s only fair to share it with my readers. Funny or not, it’s an integral part of my story.

      Like

  1. Wow again I’m amazed at the picture you paint in my mind of your pain and struggle. I felt like I was there with you. Thanks for sharing and being a strong encouragement to others.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment