A Trip Down Memory Lane

My eighty-seven year old dad has been talking about traveling back to his old home place. He “travels” there quite often in his mind, but hasn’t physically been there in many years.

Since he no longer drives, my siblings and I take turns driving him wherever he needs to go but with this particular request, all five of us wish to take this trip “down memory lane” together.

There are many stops we’re planning to make, but the house he grew up in, the church he attended as a child, and the little schoolhouse he went to are a definite must. We also plan to stop by his mom and dad’s gravesites to clean them up a bit. They’re buried in the churchyard of the old country church where my daddy preached when I was a child. They’re just not “kept” like the bigger cemeteries do so they definitely need some attention.

We actually chose a very special day for our trip down memory lane together. In a couple of days, it’ll be my sweet mama’s birthday. We’ll be placing new fall flowers on her grave before we bring daddy home. She’s buried in one of the bigger cemeteries so her site is well taken care of.

We all love and miss her tremendously. What I’d give to hear her sweet voice again. She’d be so proud of her children for taking such great care of daddy. We promised her we would.

Leave a comment